Who’s in Sir Alex’s Manchester United XI?



Brian McClair (471), Wayne Rooney (402)


One of Ferguson’s most dedicated stalwarts, Brian McClair, leads the attack. A big-money signing from Celtic in the summer of 1987, the Airdrieonian is often overlooked nowadays, given the superabundance of quality that followed, but he made a big impact upon arrival, becoming the first United player to surpass 20 goals in a league season since George Best in 1967/68. Partnering him is the club’s greatest-ever goalscorer, Wayne Rooney. The Scouser toppled Sir Bobby Charlton’s scoring record during the Jose Mourinho era, but his greatest years came under Sir Alex, for whom he netted a huge 197 goals.




Peter Schmeichel; Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Gary Pallister, Denis Irwin; David Beckham, Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs; Brian McClair, Wayne Rooney.


Source link

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.